Staff Activities

hail, farewell, congratulations banner


Congratulations to UNT Graduates
Jennifer Spillman
, Master of Science, Information Science, Health Informatics, magna cum laude
Carrie Stoeckert, Master of Science, Learning Technologies, summa cum laude

Student Assistants
Gaby Okundaye, Master of Arts, International Studies

UIT celebrates Student Appreciation Week

Robin Melendez-Martin was named HUB Champion by the UNT System Business Service Center.
Jennifer Spillman earned the Salesforce® Certified Administrator credential.

Carrie Stoeckert, assistant director for planning, budget and communications, transfers to Transportation and Parking Services as the new director for parking services effective April 24, 2017.

Professional Development
April 27-29, 2017, 5th Annual Salesforce® Higher Education Summit, Austin, Texas
   Jennifer Lee
   Maureen Saringer
   Jennifer Spillman

UIT Town Hall Snapshots
Professional Development
Philip Baczewski
, DaMiri Young, Dell EMC HPC Community, March 27-30, 2017, Austin, Texas

New staff
Breuna Riggins, student assistant, UIT Desktop Services

Service Awards
Jacob Flores
, five years
Richard Herrington, 20 years
Yonathan Khoe, five years
JoAnn Luksich, 21 years
Jonathan Starkweather, six years

UIT Town Hall Meeting  •  March 24
Philip Baczewski reviewed data on the slides submitted by each department that detailed each unit's 2016 data and accomplishments during the annual get-together. 

Role Change
Sharukh Mithani, IT manager, succeeds Deke Isaac as the manager for Microcomputer Maintenance Services with a new title as manager, UIT Support Services, and remains in the same workgroup led by Richard Sanzone, director for IT User Services, Feb. 1, 2017.
Katrina Carpenter, IT specialist, also has a new title as assistant manager, UIT Support Services.

Feb. 12, 20107: Richard Sanzone, director, IT User Services, UIT, won the Galveston Marathon in the category for males, ages 35-39.

  Overall   ------------ 1st Half ------------ ------------ 2nd Half ------------ Time Chip Gun
Place Place Name Bib No Age Rnk Time Pace Rnk Time Pace Back Time Time
1 5 Richard Sanzone 853 38 1 1:39:40.4 7:36/M 1 1:34:43.0 7:14/M   3:14:23.4 3:14:41.2

David "Deke" Isaac, IT managerJan. 31, 2017: David "Deke" Isaac, pictured right, IT manager, Microcomputer Maintenance Services, 27 years of service


New staff
Maureen Saringer, IT programmer analyst III, Student Success Information Technology

“The Student Success Technology team is pleased to welcome Maureen Saringer as the newest addition to its team. Maureen comes to us with more than 11 years of experience in the Office of Admissions, having served as the manager of the recruitment processing team. She was a key member of the recent Salesforce implementation project for UNT Admissions and URCM. Maureen brings with her almost 20 years of higher education experience specializing in IT and student data in areas such as advancement, IT and admissions. She was a member of the original EIS Implementation team. Over the years, she has worked with a variety of technical and functional staff at UNT, UNT Health Science Center and UNT Dallas. We are excited to have Maureen as a member of the UIT family. Her experience and knowledge will be a great asset to the team.”  ~ Jennifer Lee, director, Student Success Technology

OctoberStylin' with UNT pride on Fridays: Jennifer Spillman, left, and Carrie Stoeckert
Professional Development
Jennifer Lee, director, Student Success Technology Services: Dreamforce, an annual Salesforce® conference in San Francisco, where she made a presentation about the advising notes system.
Ray Banks, IT manager, and Yonathan Khoe, IT specialist, Desktop Services Department of Instructional IT Services: JAMF Nation User Conference in Minneapolis, Minn., to discover new and better ways to manage Apple® devices.
Carrie Stoeckert, director, planning, budget and communication, and Jennifer Spillman, IT programmer and analyst: Annual EDUCAUSE Conference in Anaheim, Calif. 

Professional Development
Carrie Stoeckert: Texas Association of State Systems for Computing and Communications 2016 Annual Conference, Galveston, Texas

Professional Development
Elizabeth Hinkle-Turner: Governor’s Center for Management Development, LBJ School of Public Affairs, The University of Texas at Austin

New Staff
Yuguang Ma: IT manager, High-Performance Computing, Research IT Services, General Academic Building,
Robin Melendez-Martin: administrative coordinator, University IT, Sage Hall

Katrina Carpenter: IT Specialist, UIT Help Desk and Adaptive Computer Lab – Bachelor of Arts in Professional and Technical Communication
Rene Hernandez: UIT Help Desk, Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering
Andrew Hoyt: UIT Help Desk, Bachelor of Science in Geography
Amanda Johnson: Sage Hall Adaptive Computer Lab, Bachelor of Science in Biology
Katie Welch: UIT Help Desk, Bachelor of Science in Mechanical and Energy Engineering

New Staff
Sharukh Mithani: IT manager, UIT Help Desk
Katrina Carpenter: IT specialist III, assistant manager, UIT Help Desk
Clarissa Hutkowski: administrative specialist, Data Management Services

Cody Hardi: administrative coordinator, late April

Yonathan Khoe: changed positions from manager, Adaptive Computer Lab, ITUS, to IT Specialist IV, CTDS

New Staff
Monica Scott-Taliaferro: marketing, web development, Benchmarks Online editor

Ray Banks: promoted to IT Manager II
Richard Sanzone: promoted to director, IT User Services

For more information, see the UIT Leadership and Staff Directory.

Editor's Note: Please note that information in each edition of Benchmarks Online is likely to change or degrade over time, especially the links to various websites. For current information on a specific topic, search the UNT website, UNT's UIT Help Desk or the World Wide Web. Email your questions and comments to the UNT University Information Technology Department or call 940-565-4068.